Second metal straw gone and other wordvomits

A few updates…

I’ve embarked on #PlasticFreeJuly challenge. It’s an Australian movement to eradicate use of disposable plastic, so for this month i pledged not to use plastic straws, cup lids, plastic bags and something else which i cannot remember.

And i lost my metal straw again!

Second metal straw gone from my life. Metal straw is supposed to last forever… but i guess it doesn’t work for the chronically absent minded.

I’m not over how the person clearing tables at Mos Burger can trash my precious straw. Isn’t it very obviously non-disposable?

We’re so accustomed to trashing things that it doesn’t even matter what material things are made of anymore.

“Wtf is this? Don’t know. Trash!”

The month of July is almost ending… I’m so unsuccessful with this challenge that it’s almost painful. As ridiculous as it sounds, losing my second metal straw was very big to me.

It threw me off so much that at one point i felt like damn it i don’t give a shit anymore. I thought it was better to keep all my precious stuff in the house so i’ll never lose anything. I might as well just stay at home every day.

Okay, now that it’s written in words… it’s even more ridiculous. I’m very fickle minded about saving plastic and really quite exhausted by this whole idea.

Not cool to feel like an hypocrite everyday. 

###

I went diving at Tioman last weekend. Spotted a Dasani plastic bottle wedge between the branches (?) of piece of hard coral. I left it there.

I should have picked it up.

By the way, I’m certified as advance diver now. It means i can dive deeper, navigate with a compass and do all those things in the dark! Makes me feel like i’ve accomplished something. Looking forward to my next dive.

I’m also convinced that sharks likes me. Not sure how I feel about it. I both fear and love sharks to the same degree.

###

School is starting tomorrow and I was submitting my pre-class quiz. My new semester is so heavy it makes me feel like screaming and crying.

Since i’m the person who requested for a heavier semester (so i can finish my degree a bit faster), it’s my fault. No right to scream or cry, or even complain about it. So i’m just sort of imploding and hating myself a little.

I’ve been scheduled for two weeks of hell with back to back assignment due dates and stuff. Two weeks of hell is happening in 14 days (counting down in my side bar).

I want to puke.

“You won’t die from it right?”

That’s what one of my NParks’ colleague (who’s also studying) told me when I was freaking out about school. I need to keep reminding myself that due dates won’t kill me.

Om…

###

On a happier note!

I’m going to Hanoi with my best friend. We went to Chiang Mai together when we were 21, now we’re 26. It has been 5 years!

I hope this sticks.

Every 5 years we’ll make a trip to a country that’s economically less developed than Singapore… where there’s natural bodies of water clean enough for us to swim in.

###

I’ve also started using Twitter again. It’s find to get reacquainted with “old” social media platforms. Where people seems a lot less pretentious than the Instagram crowed. I’m @pphiyphiy there, find me if you like.

I’m also looking forward to #PokemonGo. Made plans with myself to go cycling and catch them all!

Okay, i feel happier now.

Let me come up with a title for this post and be back to UniSim’s homepage.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

